

Kansas Interscholastic Athletic Administrators Association

Press Release

On behalf of the KIAAA, I would like to inform you of the following awards that will be presented at the 2023 KIAAA Conference in March in Wichita.

The following award winners were nominated by Kansas athletic directors and selected by the KIAAA Members and KIAAA Past President Council.

President

Shawn Steiner, CAA Dodge City

1st Vice President Rollie Van Wyhe, CMAA Kingman

2nd Vice President Matt Ortman, CAA Blue Valley Schools

Treasurer Chris Asmussen, CAA Valley Center

Secretary Todd Hague, CAA Cheney

Executive DirectorMarc Haught, CMAA

2023 KIAAA Awards

District Athletic Director of the Year Award Winners

District 1 Brian Becker RAA, Newton HS
District 2 Warren Bledsoe, Silver Lake HS
District 3 Kelli Kurle CAA, Blue Valley North HS
District 4 Mike Church CAA, Wichita Heights HS
Middle School Bruce Rupp CAA, Hays MS

Kansas Athletic Director of the Year Mike Church CAA, Wichita Heights HS

NIAAA State Award of Merit Jason Menard CMAA, Douglas HS

Art Newcomer Promising Athletic Director

Bill Johnson, Norton Community HS Kerri Miles RAA, Liberal HS

KIAAA Jack Dresslar Scholarship Winners

District 1 Grant Waite, Abilene HS
District 2 Abby Fleischer, Shawnee Heights HS
District 3 Tyler Brechler, Blue Valley West HS*
District 4 Campbell Hague, Cheney*

(* represents those nominated as the section 5 scholarship candidates)

Carp Winner

David Cherry, KSHSAA Retired Tim Kelley, Paola School District

Sportswriter of the Year ne Morris Miami County Republic

Gene Morris, Miami County Republic

Sportscaster of the Year

Aaron Napier, Ad Astra Radio Hutchinson